Sunday thoughts | Family and Outside In


B2B Lead Generation: We all work so hard, but whom do we really work for?

What the real reason we work so hard?

Regardless of the name on our paychecks, the fact is that we work for our families. We want to be a good provider.

I love my wife and kids – and I want to take care of them. I’m sure you feel the same way about your family too.

Think Outside-In

Let’s also share an important point today about how to think about your business – and the need to think outside in rather than inside out. This means you work from the point of view of your customers back to you, rather than from your company’s products and services to your customers. Most companies work inside out today.

I shared the following story with Jim Burns, CEO of Avitage and Jim told me “Jeff, you and I have been thinking this way for so long, that it’s a no-brainer for us. But for most companies, it is a revolutionary idea.” I agree, Jim.

I was with the owner of an insurance agency – a new client. He said to me “I sell insurance, Jeff. That’s what I do.”

I said “No offense, Ray, but you’re wrong. Here’s what your company really does:”

You help people take risk out of their lives and protect the people and things they love.

Isn’t that what insurance is all about? He said “Wow! I LOVE how you put that! You really opened my eyes.”

I’m glad I was able to open his eyes to a service mindset – which is imperative in business today.

How about you? Do you focus on what you sell or the way you serve? Try focusing on the latter. It works.

Have a great weekend and thanks for your support of the B2B lead generation consultancy Find New Customers.

Read my blog on Amazon Kindle

How to Find New Customers
How to Find New Customers

P.S. We calculated our grades yesterday using Hubspot’s Grader.com. (I suggest you do the same on your domains too.) Not bad scores, especially considering our domains (findnewcustomers dot net and fearlesscompetitor dot com) were stolen last Fall…and these scores are for our new domains.

Leave a Reply

