Always Be Helping vs. Self-Promotion


A tiny minority of people seem think I’m guilty of self-promotion. Are they right? Maybe they are. I want to know what you think.

I hope you don’t feel this way, as our mantra is “Always Be Helping” (without asking anything in return.)

A good example of the way we aim to work is Wendy Marx of Marx Communications. I talked with Wendy, who has said she wanted to learn about my company. I said “Wendy, you can learn about my company anytime. I want to learn about how I might help you.” We talked about her company. Wendy became a supporter. This approach has been used over and over – so we have many supporters.

What do you think? Am I guilty of self-promotion?

“I created my company’s entire Go to Market strategy based on How to Find New Customers.  You’re exactly right.  It’s the right way to find and acquire new customers today.”

Software Company CEO

I want to know what you think. Please enter your comment below.

Read my blog on Kindle

Jeff Ogden (@fearlesscomp) is President of the B2B lead generation consultancy, Find New Customers. He presented “How to Build an Awesome Personal Brand” at the 140 Social Media Conference and appeared to discuss B2B lead generation on Sales Lead Management Radio.
To learn more about Jeff, please click on Who is the Fearless Competitor?

Find New Customers helps companies (with between 150 and 5,000 employees who sell complex products to businesses) to implement world-class lead generation programs. As companies struggle to create quality sales opportunities, they turn to lead generation companies like Find New Customers.

Find New Customers can certainly help your business dramatically improve the flow of sales-ready leads to salespeople.” Paul Dunay, Buzz Marketing for Technology.

5 thoughts on “Always Be Helping vs. Self-Promotion

  1. Interesting approach. There’s a difference between self-promotion and unabashed self promotion. Is this particular post more of one or the other? I’ll be looking forward to your constituents’ comments. Transparency is good.

  2. I HAVE LEARNED so much from your FREE STUFF . in my opion you need to let people know that you also do more personal touch for money . does tv tell you where to get what you want . just watch a few adds
    doing great keep up great work !!!

Leave a Reply

