The Essential Importance of Attitude


This blog has a new premium template.  What do you think of it?

Next March I was giving a keynote speech in Connecticut for my client, Serv-Pro.  And Importance of Attitude will be a portion of my keynote.  The purpose of this post is to explain why I consider Attitude so important..

As most of you know, I was in a major accident recently.  I was in the hospital for months and months.  But one thing made me different from every other patient – I never complained and I never stopped smiling.Halo

Vic, my occupational therapist used to come into my room and he said “Jeff, every time I come into your room, you are in a great mood and smiling. That is so impressive.  Is it part of your upcoming speech?”  I told him “Yes.”  I did this despite the fact that I was wearing a halo (see photo) 24 hours per day.

Another thing I heard from other patients was complaints about pain and reluctance to work out.  When asked to get out of a wheelchair and stand, one man said “I can’t.” but he could.

Contrast that with what I did.  I walked up a set of 6 steps slowly and was exhausted. My therapist congratulated me on a job well done. I told her “Today, I went up the steps once. Tomorrow, I’m going up twice.  The next day, three times and so forth.”  She said “Holy cow. That is SO impressive.”  By the time I was done, I went up the steps 12 times without a rest!

In addition, I never complained about the halo on my head, despite the fact that my head never touched the pillow.   But in my head, I knew it was not forever and complaining accomplishes nothing.  So I never complained.

When I finally left the hospital, an injured professional pianist at the room next door said “Jeff, I’m sorry to see you go. You have been a great inspiration for all of us. Your attitude has been wonderful and a great example for all of us.”

There is a saying “Smile, and the whole world smiles with you.”  I agree 100%.

If you want to be well-regarded and well-liked – even in a senior management role like Chief Marketing Officer, then smile no matter what.  It might even win you a nicely paying keynote speech, like it did me.

What do you think? Love comments here.

If your company is looking for help from a very well-connected award-winning BtoB marketing expert, just fill out the form below.

This blog is written by the award-winning marketing expert Jeff Ogden, the Fearless Competitor – Founder and President of Find New Customers. You can follow me on Twitter at @fearlesscomp

 

Leave a Reply

