Pithy sayings by Seth Godin in a great book


What To Do When It’s Your Turn (and it’s always your turn) is a great book by Seth Godin that was given to Jeffrey L. Ogden of Find New Customers by his partners at Likeable Local. Thank you Likeable Local.

Got a great book from my son Matt, the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey, which is a classic.

Supposed to have been at a doctor today with my mom, but more on that below.

I’ll also tell you about my favorite show House of Cards and how it hit home for me.

Love Seth’s style of writing which is brief, short and pithy and he has a lot of great quotes in his book as well.

Here are 5 of the great stories I found in this book which I’d like to share with the readers of this blog.

  1. The Broken Escalator Problem
    Two executives in suits are riding on an escalator, who look stressed and in a hurry. With a lurch, the escalator stops. One sighs and the other calls for help.  Both executives are trapped because the escalator will not move, but the stairs are right in front of them. The answer is right in front of them, but they don’t see it.
  2. The Cost of a Broken Promise
    This is based on a marshmallow test done with young kids at Stanford over 40 years ago. “Here’s a marshmallow. If you eat it now, we are done, but if you wait 15 minutes and the marshmallow is still there when we come back to you, you get 2 marshmallows.”  Turns out that the kids who waited were much more successful years later. Kids who didn’t think the promise would be kept ate the marshmallow. Seth says that the home you grew up in matters more than we can imagine and I agree with him.

    Grew up in a small town in Southern Indiana called Madison and I believe in “A Promise Made is a Promise Kept.” which has been a slogan of Find New Customers, the most Likeable company in Marketing, since I founded it way back in 2009.

  3. When was the last time you did something for the first time?
    “When it’s your turn, the cultural instinct is to launch the safe button, to keep your head down and not something new and dangerous.”

    I was invited to host an online TV show call Mad Marketing TV by the former VP of Marketing at Act-On Software, David Appelbaum. “You did a great job on that webinar, Jeff. Let’s do Phase 2 together.”

    I’d never been on camera or interviewed anyone, but I said “Yes” to David.

    When that show died after David left, I created Marketing Made Simple TV – created a logo and booked awesome guests, but it finally died when I was in the hospital and I almost died.But I LOVED creating a show for the first time and I turned out to be very good at it.The show is no longer being done, but they are all still live on YouTube.

  4. Saying yes
    “The world regularly offers us opportunities to step up, to lead and to raise our hands. We get a chance to lead and do the work that matters. And we rarely say “Yes” to that opportunity.”

    My long career is filled with examples of where great things happened by saying yes, like meeting the late George Steinbrenner in the airport in Tampa when everyone knew who he was, but no one would talk to him – except me. George even talked to my ex-wife Kathy on my phone and we sat together on the plane. RIP George.In fact, when I met David Sable, Global CEO of Y&R for breakfast in New York City, he agreed with the power of Yes (I had interviewed David at a meeting earlier.) Miss those days a lot.

  5. Tell the Truth
    “We don’t know what you see. We have no idea what you are thinking. We need your contribution, your vision, your truth. We’re ready for you to tell us your truth.”

    This is another passion of Jeffrey L. Ogden of Find New Customers – to tell the truth to everyone all the time.

Love this book and I highly recommend you get your own copy of this great book by Seth Godin.

Supposed to have had a doctor’s appointment today with my Mom, but it was cancelled because the last bill was only partially paid.  Shame on you, Workers Compensation in New York!

Waiting to hear when it is rescheduled – when my nurse Catherine gets back to me.

What else can I say? The Ching Ching tournament of Flanner Hall at Notre Dame is back as all of my Notre Dame roommates are in on this NCAA contest and mine is taped to my wall. Thanks Feisal, Mac and Shep. I’m a Notre Dame grad though and through.

Love the great Netflix show House of Cards, in which Kevin Spacey plays the President, Frank Underwood.  The cinematography on the show is great as Frank talks to the camera and text messages are shown on screen.

Recent show hit home as Frank’s friend, Doug Stamper, was badly injured like I was last April. Doug walks with a cane in the show.

Thanks to prayers and visits from friends, I no longer have a wheelchair or cane and I’m in pretty good shape now.  Thank God!

Great story on how that show ended up on Netflix.  Every network wanted a pilot, but not Netflix, who had the data. Kevin Spacey tells a great story about this on YouTube.

I do finally have an iHome in my room which plays through Bluetooth, but sometimes I use my headphones, so I do not bother anyone here in this house where I have a small room.

Speaking of injuries, Matt Heinz of Heinz Marketing wrote a great How I Work with Jeff Ogden of Find New Customers post which discusses my injury. Thank you so much for that, Matt!

ServPro “Like it Never Happened” is the company that sponsors FoxNews once hired me to deliver a keynote speech at their meeting in Connecticut last April, but I fell and never delivered it. Too bad.

Hope to revisit that someday as I did shoot a video on keynote speaking.

What do you think? We love comments (no SPAM please) and those who share on social media, which we make as easy as we can for you.

